Outsiders by Emma T

Out of all the characters in the Outsiders I relate to Pony boy the most. Not just that were alike but I relate to how he thinks, what he says and does more than anyone else in the book. Pony boy is the youngest of 3 boys. He is different from the other guys because he is more caring and has a sensitive side unlike the other greasers.

Some examples are when the fire happens in the barn, he goes in to save the children because he cares about the kids unlike Dally who told him not to go in. I bet no other greaser (except Johnny) would do that to put their life at risk for kids. Another example is in the begging of the book on page 2 he says “I’m different in that way. I mean my 2nd oldest brother Soda, who is 16 going on 17 never cracks a book at all. My oldest brother Darry works way to hard and long to be interested in a story or drawing. So I’m not like them, and nobody in our gang digs movies and books the way I do. For a while there, I thought I was the only person in the world that did. So I loned it.” In that quote is says that Pony knows he’s different and he kind of just accepts it.

I think the way he looks at things is so much different from the others because he looks at the big picture about what life is about, and why the greasers are greasers and why the socs are socs. He also remembers that everyone even the socs are just people and there’s really no point to fight but he understands that that’s the way things are so he just goes along with it. I relate to him because I think that way to, I think of the big picture of life not just the small things but I don’t do anything to change the way things are I just play my part.

Leave a Reply

