How Does This Novel Most Relate To You? by Jon

This story relates to losing something you love. One time I was paid 10 dollars for walking a dog when I was 7 years old. The same day my dad and I went to a baseball game and I realized the money wasn’t in my pocket. I couldn’t believe it. I cried. Ten dollars was a lot of money to me at the age of 7. My dad said it was in a better place now. Maybe someone who really needed the money picked it up. It was important to me and I had to face the fact that lost it. Also, when I was in 5th grade, our dog died. It was the first time a living thing that meant a lot to me was gone. She meant a lot to me and had been in our family since before I was born. I couldn’t get over losing my best friend, and I really missed her. I think when the gang lost Johnny, the Greasers felt the same way. After Johnny died, Ponyboy had a hard time accepting that Johnny was gone. He told himself on page 156, “try to think that Johnny is better off now.”. Their relationships were strong and Johnny was like a member of their family, not just a friend. They were pretty much destroyed, and missed him a lot.

I think relationships in my life are very important. Being with my family reminds me every day how lucky I am to be with them. Relationships between people are what keep their trust for each. The differences between the Greasers and Socs wasn’t as big as they thought it was. On page 41, Ponyboy realized that “maybe the two different worlds we lived in weren’t so different. We saw the same sunset.”. The word outsider can be defined in many different ways by many different people. I think I relate most to Johnny. Not because my name is Jon but because this character is not defined as what some people think he really is. He is underestimated. My mom often says I look like a hoodlum, a street rat, a hood. I’m not any of those, but in the novel, the boys define themselves with those traits. However, once we read the book, we get to know each character individually inside the group they belong to. They each have good qualities and should not be judged by what they look like.

Leave a Reply

